Self-Love

Bryan Caplan, on cloning himself:

I confess that I take anti-cloning arguments personally. Not only do they insult the identical twin sons I already have; they insult a son I hope I live to meet. Yes, I wish to clone myself and raise the baby as my son. Seriously. I want to experience the sublime bond I’m sure we’d share. I’m confident that he’d be delighted, too, because I would love to be raised by me. I’m not pushing others to clone themselves. I’m not asking anyone else to pay for my dream. I just want government to leave me and the cloning business alone. Is that too much to ask?

No, it isn’t.  None of my business if you do.  That said, here’s two cents:

-I can’t recall seeing anyone take the you’re-born-that-way side of the Nature vs Nurture argument so staunchly before.  Ever.  Completely dismissing the influence of your upbringing is a curious tack, especially when the context is wanting to literally raise yourself.  If he’s correct, then nothing he does will matter; if he’s not, then other than physically cloning means squat.

-I wouldn’t want to deal with myself as a kid, and I doubt my clone would be able to stand me as his “father”.  Another me in this world would be a humongous drag for both of us.  Hell, I can barely stand other people’s kids!

Props.

About b-psycho

Left-libertarian blogger & occasional musician.
This entry was posted in philosophy/life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self-Love

  1. vache folle says:

    The best reason would be a supply of spare parts.

Leave a Reply

