Of Apples and Goalposts

To Freddie: Linux is the dork OS.  Apple is defining dorkdom down.

That’s not to say dorkiness is bad.  Now, charging more for a computer w/ parts so similar that you can run the competing OS on it natively and/or build one yourself for less money…that’s bad.  For me, it isn’t about user friendliness, or safety or any of the stuff that they’ve usually barked about in advertising. It’s the cost premium, specifically it having no grounding in reality I can discern.

If it weren’t for the lack of decent games & music software on Linux I’d probably have considered it, but I use what I know.  Windows won by default in my case (same as they did w/ gaming: Wii was disqualified because of its ridiculous controller, & the PS3 didn’t reach my price range before the 360 did), so being smug about it doesn’t make sense for them either.

About b-psycho

Left-libertarian blogger & occasional musician.
This entry was posted in meaningless nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Of Apples and Goalposts

  1. Jamelle says:

    It’s the cost premium, specifically it having no grounding in reality I can discern.

    I’m on the same page; as much as I admire the aesthetic qualities of Apple products, I simply don’t understand why I’m paying more for what is essentially the same machine as everyone else is selling.

Leave a Reply

