At least he's that principled…

With my naturally blase’ demeanor, superhuman appetite, off-kilter sense of humor, and low eyelids (I’m frequently told to open my eyes for pictures when they’re already open), I seemed like a stoner before I ever took a single toke.

This guy, however, could be taking the Mother of all Bong Hits right in front of you and still look like your insurance agent.

While I understand the point behind the “cannabis closet” thing that Andrew Sullivan has been talking about — stereotypically “normal” people that smoke pot & the contradiction of image vs reality — am I the only one that finds it kinda sad for another, less obvious reason?  It’s already been established that marijuana users aren’t more likely to harm anyone else than the population average (in fact, LESS likely), and we’ve done away with the layers of propaganda to the point where “you’ll hang out on your couch!” is the most that anti-drug ads can say anymore towards weed.  To be blunt about it, why the fuck do we think there’s standing to bark even if someone IS the archetypal stoner?

Acceptance is overrated.  I’ve long believed that, and still do.  In this case, I have to wonder what it says for our society that even to step out of one box you pretty much have to fit in another.

BTW: that bud at the top of that last Sully post in the series I linked to is freakin’ gorgeous…

About b-psycho

Left-libertarian blogger & occasional musician.
This entry was posted in random shots. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At least he's that principled…

  1. Pingback: Posts about Andrew Sullivan as of April 3, 2009 » The Daily Parr

  2. “Acceptance is overrated. I’ve long believed that, and still do. In this case, I have to wonder what it says for our society that even to step out of one box you pretty much have to fit in another.”

    I grok this in a big way, dude.

Leave a Reply

